“Every woman has weapons. One of them is colour…” Edith Head

ariel2She continued with the notion that colour not only changes the way a woman looks, it can change the way she feels, thinks even. Now apart from the fact that Ms Head was a renowned Academy Award winning costume designer who has every right to make such a claim, I think anyone who has experimented with colours will know she is all too correct. Now whether or not you subscribe to the school of colour theories the fact is when you wear say, all black, you feel very different from say the exact same ensemble but in blue or green. Black is slimming, it exudes mystery, edginess, a hardness that no other colour will ever match no matter how hard it tries. I mean it’s not called film noir for no reason, and it isn’t film verde or film azul. So if what you want an outfit to say is that “I’m tough” or  “I’m mysterious” then black is yer only man. However black isn’t the only colour with connections. White- virginal, pink – feminine, purple – passionate, red – fiery and sexy. And so on. And cliched as all this may seem it is startling to see just how true Head’s observation is even in today’s jaded and cynical world. Recently I was in London and I had my first, my virginal trip to Camden town. Perhaps it was a subconscious thing but I also wore white, a pretty white vintage dress that is very feminine and ladylike. To the uninitiated Camden Town is one big market with a vast array of stalls selling everything from aprons to zoot suits. It is popular with teens and tourists and teen tourists. All the usual sub cultures are represented – goths, hippies, ravers, mods, rasta’s, vampire lovers,  punks,vintage heads and anyone else you can think of. And I visited them all, I am an equal opportunist shopper. However what I did notice was that dressed all in white and looking very vestal I felt very incompatible with my surroundings. I was like a carton of fat-free natural probiotic yogurt in the Ben & Jerry’s section of the freezer. So for the most part the people working these stalls left me alone, which is a good thing, but it was if they took one look and dismissed me as a potential customer. And this was heightened when I visited any of the goth or punk stalls because I just so did not look like someone going to buy anything black or edgy. And although at one of these stalls there was a t-shirt that I loved, a black one, with an image of Ariel (Disney mermaid) but with tattoos all along her arms. However since no one bothered me, I didn’t bother. Now had I been wearing say black jeans and a black top I would probably have put it on or at least up against myself and I know it would now be hanging in my wardrobe rather than on a wooden pole in some dark and pokey little shop in London.So on that day white was my weapon against, well against spending actually, which isn’t a bad thing given how much I do spend on clothes, but I digress.  Wearing white made me think and feel and act differently than had I been wearing black, my usual and preferred colour. And all of this is good to know, good to remember, especially when I want to go shopping and not spend a cent.

Leave a Reply

