“Sister is the sensible twin, she see things in black and white. Monty sees all the colours.” Nurse Wilke

 

tumblr_mejqqjkiul1rv8zdao1_r2_500

“I watched myself in “Red River” and I knew I was going to be famous, so I decided I would get drunk anonymously one last time”

Despite my ever growing number of years on this planet, I am still surprised when people  see things as black or white, and who, despite their number of years on this planet, never seem to deviate from what, in my mind, is a rather simplistic view.  I may love black & white movies but I live in the grey. I mean not about everything, but enough that on a daily basis I am flummoxed  by the sheer volume of  people who hold to a ‘either or’ belief. My existence in this grey area has, or is rather, not always a pleasant one and I have often envied my peers and their  inability to see things as definitively this or that.To not endlessly feel the need to question, to challenge or argue their interpretation  So I was rather chuffed when I read this line in a recent bio of Monty.  Here was someone else who didn’t see only in black and white, but that didn’t or hadn’t relegated him to boring, nondescript grey. He saw a whole spectrum of colours and  it was this idea, of opening it up to all the colours  -this was what was so hugely appealing. Because living in the grey, well until recently at least, grey was synonymous with well…. nothing too exciting. Bland, dull, a school uniform colour. But colourful, exciting or interesting?  No these adjectives are not what springs to mind, or at least didn’t until a certain EL James got her hands on it. But apart from that one chap, grey is still a colour that suggests neutrality, a certain lacking of emotion. Not exactly how I see myself, or I hope, how others see me.

 

 

 

3799751307_92788d7ed2_b

The Misfits…….. another one of my fav’s although sometimes think I am the only one who liked it

The reluctance of people to see a rainbow of interpretations, to see things as only this or that, their way or the wrong way perplexes me and makes me wonder about is it that makes them so firm in their belief’s and why are they so reluctant to acknowledge the merit of someone with an opposing belief. Is it fear, a control thing? Is it simply shortsightedness, or arrogance? Sometimes I know it be intolerance and that scares and annoys me at the same time – in equal measure.  However knowing that Monty saw the possibilities, the endless number of options , or degrees of understanding makes me feel just a little less frustrated, a little less alone. In truth though it also makes me a little nervous, after all when he and Marilyn worked together on The Misfits she declared “he is the only one I know who is  in even worse shape than I am ” Now I am a huge fan of  Marilyn  but if she is saying this about you, then my friend things are not looking good. So that aside, and yes I know Monty performed what is considered  the longest suicide in Hollywood history, that he allowed drugs and alcohol to destroy his career and his life so that we lost yet another star too soon, I am still heartened and bolstered by the idea that someone like Monty shares my colourful                                                                                                   interpretations.

 

a-place-in-the-sun-1961

” I love you. I’ve loved you since the first moment I saw you. I guess maybe I even loved you before I saw you”

Monty was a complex man. With his looks he could have played it safe instead he deliberately chose characters who were the outsider, the victim-hero or the unsympathetic, conniving social climber in A Place in the Sun. He eschewed the trappings of Hollywood preferring New York , theatre and lengthy conversations about art  and the craft of acting to flashy cars and clothes. Determined to remain in control of his career and over what movie roles he would pick, he delayed singing a studio contract until after his first few films were successful executing, “a power differential that would go on to structure the star-studio relationship for the next 40 years” according to Anne Helen Peterson in Scandals of Classic Hollywood: Sex, Deviance, and Drama from the Golden Age of Hollywood Cinema. He was one of the original method actors and one of the first to be invited to study in the Actors Studio. He poured over every script, frequently doing many of his own rewrites,and in one instance he virtually rewrote the entire script. it went on to win an Oscar but only the original writers were acknowledged. His private life was complicated- he loved and was loved by both men and women- and although it would be easy to see his affairs with men as the source of his problems , given the era and the attitude about homosexuality that prevailed then, a quick look at some of his own writings would suggest otherwise. He was preoccupied with the very act of living in a world that was tough, cruel, unfair, a world  where sensitivity was deemed a weakness. Yet like his character in FHTE he  believed that “If a man don’t go his own way, he’s nothin”  He sought beauty and truth but suffered from the inevitable struggle of  how to ” remain thin-skinned, vulnerable, and still alive?”  To define Monty, as so many do as  a self-loathing homosexual, to regard him in such stark black and white terms is to do him a huge disservice and simply demonstrates an unwillingness to see, like he did, “all the colours.” And that would be a pity.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present a screening of 1953 Best Picture winner ÒFrom Here to EternityÓ on Wednesday, November 18, at 7:30 p.m. at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The evening will feature the premiere of a new digital restoration, as well as an onstage discussion with actor Ernest Borgnine. Pictured: Montgomery Clift and Frank Sinatra in a scene from FROM HERE TO ETERNITY, 1953.

“I swear I had nothin to do with the horse”

If you haven’t seen either From Here to Eternity or A Place in the Sun I highly recommend both. FHTE is known for’ that kiss’, but really Sinatra and Monty are the stars. I dare anyone to watch Sinatra die in Monty’s arms and not shed a tear, or a  bucket load. And then for just pure gorgeousness there is the paring of Monty and Liz in APITS – they really are the most beautiful Hollywood couple ever.

“Labeling is so self-limiting. We are what we do, not what we say we are.”

